Sat. Dec 2nd, 2023

VANCOUVER Today, the 12th BC Health Care Awards recipients were announced at a gala luncheon held in Vancouver. The ceremony honored twelve Gold Apple recipients and six Award of Merit winners.

The Health Employers Association of British Columbia presents the awards to recognize British Columbians who provide exceptional care and support. The awards are presented in 11 categories and recognize projects that improve delivery through collaborative and innovative approaches. They also recognize people who make a positive difference and inspire others.

Michael McMillan (HEABC’s President & CEO) stated that “BC’s medical professionals – including support staff – genuinely care about delivering high-quality care to British Columbians.” The BCHC Awards allow us to celebrate and recognize the contributions of individuals and teams.

This year’s Dianna Mah-Jones Award for Excellence in Person-Centred Healthcare

This award was named in honor of Dianna Mah Jones. It recognizes a team or project which makes use of top practices to improve the care of patients, residents, or clients. They focus on the individual and not the system or service. Dianna Mah-Jones was an occupational therapist at GF Strong Rehabilitation Centre. She and her husband Richard Jones were tragically killed just three months after she was named Provincial HC Hero at 2017 awards. We hope that this ward will keep her legacy and memory alive by recognising others who work to provide care that respects the preferences, values, and needs of patients.

2018 Gold Apple winner

Provincial HC Hero & HC Hero – Provincial Health Services Authority

Glenn Braithwaite – District Supervisor, Emergency Coordinator, BCEHS

Glenn Jay Braithwaite, a Paramedic/Disturban Supervisor at BC Ambulance Service is recognized for his exceptional emergency response skills and clinical leadership ability. He has received many professional awards for his heroism and outstanding dedication to patients, colleagues, and the wider community.

Provincial HC Hero & HC Hero – Island Health

Dr. Ramm Hering, Physician Lead, Primary Care Substance Use Island Health

Dr. Hering is a passionate advocate for better services for patients with addiction and substance abuse. His colleagues have been inspired by his efforts to create new programs and a client-centered system of addiction services.

HC Hero – Affiliate

Dr. David Agulnik-Emergency Physician, St. Paul’s Hospital

HC Hero – Fraser Health

Mits Miyata – Pharmacy Manager, Lower Mainland Pharmacy Services

HC Hero – Interior Health

Lynda Martyn, Registered Speech-Language Therapist, Coordinator Kelowna Cleft Lip/Palate clinic

HC Hero – Northern Health

Debbie Strang – Health Services Administrator, Quesnel

HC Hero – Provincial Health Services Authority

Dr. Faisal Khosa – Associate Professor, Radiology, Vancouver General Hospital

Dianna Mah Jones Award of Excellence in Person-Centred Healthcare

International Seating Symposium, Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children (Provincial Health Services Authority),

International Seating Symposium is an international forum that promotes the exchange of ideas as well as a network of consumers and rehabilitation therapists. These innovations have led to improvements in technology and rehabilitation equipment that have greatly improved the quality of life, mobility, and comfort for people with disabilities.

Dianna Mah Jones Award of Excellence in Person-Centred Healthcare

Residential Care for me: Megamorphosis Seniors Care and Palliative Services Providence

Residential Care for Me: Megamorphosis aims to transform residential care from an institutional model to one that is socially oriented. Residents will experience a better quality of life by being able to control their own lives and feel at home.

Top Innovation

SNIFF: C. Difficile Canine Scent Detection Program – Vancouver Coastal Health

A dedicated and innovative team of people, along with a growing number of pups, known as the C. Difficile Scent Detection Program, are pioneering a cost-effective way to increase and enhance C. Difficile surveillance.

Workplace Health Innovation

VGH Emergency Department Healthy Workplace Initiative – Vancouver Coastal Health

Vancouver General Hospital’s Emergency Department formed a multidisciplinary team to improve workplace safety and health. This has resulted in a better working environment where staff feel more engaged and are better equipped to give the quality of care that emergency patients need.

Collaborative Solution

The Road Map to Improving Indigenous Cancer Journeys – BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centres. BC Cancer (Provincial Health Services Authority), First Nations Health Authority. Metis Nation BC

The Indigenous Cancer Strategy, a collaboration strategy, will improve the outcomes of indigenous cancer by addressing all stages of the journey from prevention to treatment through to survivorship, and end-of life care.

The recipients of the Awards of Merit for this year are:

Dianna Mah Jones Award of Excellence in Person-Centred Healthcare

* Review of Resources and Needs – Nanaimo Regional General Hospital Island Health

Top Innovation

* Symphony QuickCall, Workforce Management Solutions, Provincial Health Services Authority

* Fall-unteers – A volunteer-based falls prevention strategy in residential care – Holy Family Hospital Residential Care Providence

Workplace Health Innovation

* Leading Practices to Reduce Workplace Injuries – Menno Place

Collaborative Solution

* Regional Strategy to Reduce Ambulance Turnaround Time – BC Emergency Health Services. Provincial Health Services Authority. Fraser Health

* Vancouver Shared Care Team – Doctors of BC and Providence, Vancouver Coastal Health

More than 200 Gold Apples have been given and more than 200 Awards of Merit to BC health workers who have made a significant contribution to improving the healthcare system and patient care.

Great-West Life, Healthcare Benefit Trust and Pacific Blue Cross generously support the 2018 BCHC Awards.

By henna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *